Monday, February 6, 2023
HomeBreaking NewsWIPL 2023 team announcement highlights: Tournament named Women’s Premier League; Adani registers...

WIPL 2023 team announcement highlights: Tournament named Women’s Premier League; Adani registers highest bid for Ahmedabad franchise

The teams are out for the first edition of the Women’s Indian Premier League. Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Delhi, Bengaluru and Lucknow are the five city franchises and here are the companies that have secured the rights to own them.

Follow the live reactions here.

S. No. Successful bidder City Amount in INR
1. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd Ahmedabad 1289 crores
2. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd Mumbai 912.99 crores
3. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd Bengaluru 901 crores
4. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd Delhi 810 crores
5. Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd Lucknow 757 crores

The tournament will also officially be the WOMEN’S PREMIER LEAGUE.


  • ⦿
    Adani Group registers the highest bid in the team bidding exercise – INR 1289 CR for the Ahmedabad franchise
  • ⦿
    IndiaWin comes second with a bid of 912.99 CR for the Mumbai franchise while Royal Challengers Bangalore secures the Bengaluru franchise for 901 CR
  • ⦿
    Chennai Super Kings is not bidding for a women’s franchise

The RCB team logo

Royal Challengers Bangalore responded to winning their bid for the Bengaluru franchise with a specialized logo. England international Alex Hartley, who is a huge RCB fan and urged the franchise to bid and buy a team, will be thrilled, we’re sure! Indian cricketer Veda Krishnamurthy, who was on the sidelines of last year’s Women’s T20 Challenge, had hoped her city’s team would get busy during the Women’s IPL effort. Here we are.

Here are the five teams and their owners for the first edition of the Women’s Indian Premier League

ADANI BUY AHMEDABAD FRANCHISE: The Adani Group buys the Ahmedabad franchise for Rs 1289 crore, the highest bid for #WIPL teams.


Sportstar learned that Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings are among the teams that have not bid to own a team in the inaugural edition of the Women’s IPL. Here’s what a Titans official had to say about that decision. Shayan Acharya reports:

“We want to focus on Gujarat Titans for now and look to join the WIPL in the future.”

The franchise made its IPL debut last year and went on to win the title. A source in the Delhi Capitals confirmed that the franchise will be represented by both GMR and JSW groups even though they had purchased ITT separately.

Nooshin Al Khadeer, currently the coach of the U19 Women’s Team which is in the midst of a World Cup campaign in South Africa, is among those eagerly awaiting news about the franchises. Will one of the teams possibly hire her as a coach? One will have to wait. Here’s a look at the accomplishments she’s built up over the years.


The Women’s IPL marks a tipping point in the legacy of women’s cricket in India. From the sport available as a hobby to steps being taken toward an increasingly professional lineup, the women’s game has come a long way and Sportstar has watched it all from the ringside. Follow the blog all day today for exclusive images from our archives.

Girls take cricket seriously. Pictured are field players on alert as one of the players hits a ball during training at the Gandhinagar ground in Madras on July 15, 1973. | Photo credit: PHOTO: THE HINDU ARCHIVES

2:15 pm: The bidding process begins

The BCCI has begun submitting financial bids to own and operate five franchises in the WIPL.

U-19 Indian women’s player to watch ahead of the inaugural WIPL

  • ⦿
    Shweta Sehrawat
  • ⦿
    Parshavi Chopra
  • ⦿
    Titas Sadhu
  • ⦿
    Hurley Gala

How many teams are playing in the Women’s IPL?

The Women’s IPL has five teams and BCCI will shortlist the bidders based on their highest bid.

Which cities are shortlisted for women’s IPL?

BCCI shortlisted 10 cities: Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Delhi, Lucknow, Indore, Bengaluru, Guwahati and Dharamsala.

Which men’s IPL teams have expressed interest in owning franchises?

At least two franchises of the Indian Premier League – Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans – have not submitted the technical bids for the inaugural edition of the Women’s Indian Premier League (WIPL).

Seven franchises – Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders – have been confirmed Sports star that they submitted the bids on Monday.

The inaugural season of the women’s IPL will begin in 2023 and the bidding process to decide on franchises and owners will begin today in Mumbai where more than ten different bidders will compete for rights to own five teams in the WIPL.

13:00: Scheduled start of bidding

Teams must assemble by 2pm IST to submit bids. The final decision on the teams will therefore be made later in the evening.

When does IPL for women start?

The BCCI has not yet provided any official updates regarding the exact dates, but the inaugural season of the Women’s IPL will begin in March.

Who won the media rights for women’s IPL?

Viacom 18 has been awarded the media rights for Rs. 951 crores for the first five editions of the Women’s Indian Premier League. View the full report here – READ

See also  Chinese loan apps case: ED raids PayTM, Razorpay and Cashfree


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments