Previously, the feature was launched with support for photos and videos.
The feature is currently available in WhatsApp’s Android beta, which allows users to send messages that can only be viewed once before disappearing, WABetaInfo reports.
According to the report, a padlock-shaped button with the traditional send-message logo may one day be available in the app to access the feature.
With this feature, users do not need to delete the information shared inadvertently, as it is automatically removed from the recipient’s phone.
Since images and videos once viewed cannot be forwarded and copied, it is also not possible to do the same with the text messages once viewed.
WhatsApp currently prevents recipients from taking a screenshot of a piece of display once they use the most recent version of the app, but it’s unclear if this protection will be extended to text messages, the report said.
Earlier this month, the messaging platform also introduced a new shortcut for disappearing messages on Android beta.
The new shortcut will be placed in the “Manage Storage” section and marked as a space saving tool.