Tuesday, February 7, 2023
HomeSportsUpdated Golden Boot leaders as Mbappe shines

Updated Golden Boot leaders as Mbappe shines

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will see 32 countries take part in the biggest football event in Qatar, the first World Cup ever held in the Middle East. This year will be the final edition of the tournament with a field of 32 countries – that number is expected to increase to 48 for the 2026 World Cup, which will have venues in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

This year’s Copa Mundial will look different for several reasons, including the dates (due to the intense summer heat in Qatar, the schedule was moved to November-December instead of the traditional summer time). But as always, the event will see the world’s top footballing nations vying for global glory, as well as individual awards for top performers, including the coveted award for attacking players: the Golden Boot.

At the last iteration of the World Cup, England Harry Kane, also a star for Premier League side Tottenham, took home the award thanks to his six goals, which likely helped soften the blow of the Three Lions who fell 2-0 to Belgium in the third-place game. One of the main storylines to watch at this year’s World Cup is the swan song for two of the game’s biggest stars: Argentina’s Lionel Messi and that of Portugal Christian Ronaldo.

Neither player has ever won the Golden Boot and neither of their teams have won the World Cup during their tenure, but Messi is still 90 minutes away from either. Defending champion France has contenders for the award including Kylian Mbappe and Oliver Giroud.

See also  PAK Vs ZIM Babar Azam Disappointed After Pakistan's Defeat Said Batting Unit Disappointed Us

Follow ProSoccerTalk and NBC Sports Edge for more information on the latest Golden Boot standings, odds and predictions throughout the tournament.

RELATED: World Cup 2022 Schedule – Groups, Calendar, Match Schedule, Brackets, Dates

What is the Golden Boot?

The Golden Boot is the prize awarded to the top scorer in each edition of the World Cup. At the end of the tournament, if two or more players top the table with the same number of goals, the prize will go to the player with the most goals without penalties. go to the player with the most assists. While there has always been a top scorer at the tournament, the specific award has been presented since 1982. It was known as “The Golden Boot” until its rechristening in 2010.

RELATED: World Cup 2022 ranking: who are the favourites?

Who are the top scorers at the 2022 World Cup?

1. Lionel Messi (Argentina) – 5 (leads tiebreak with 3 assists to Mbappé’s 2)
2. Kylian Mbappe (France) – 5
3. Olivier Giroud (France) – 4
4. Julian Alvarez (Argentina) – 4
5. Marcus Rashford (England) – 3
6. Alvaro Morata (Spain) – 3
7. Enner Valencia (Ecuador) – 3
8. Bukayo Saka (England) – 3
9. Richarlison (Brazil) – 3
10. Goncalo Ramos (Portugal) – 3
11. Cody Gakpo (Netherlands) – 3
12. Mehdi Taremi (Iran) – 2
13. Bruno Fernandes (Portugal) – 2
14. Mohammed Kudus (Ghana) – 2
15. Cho Gue-Sung (South Korea) – 2
16. Breel Embolo (Switzerland) – 2
17. Salem Al Dawsari (Saudi Arabia) – 2
18. Aleksandar Mitrovic (Serbia) – 2
19. Kai Havertz (Germany) – 2
20. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon) – 2
21. Niclas Fullkrug (Germany) – 2
22. Ritsu Doan (Japan) – 2
23. Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Uruguay) – 2
24. Andrej Kramaric (Croatia) – 2
25. Robert Lewandowski (Poland) – 2
26. Ferran Torres (Spain) – 2
27. Wout Weghorst (Netherlands) – 2
28. Rafael Leao (Portugal) – 2

See also  IND: 6-0 (1) | IND VS BAN, 2nd ODI LIVE Cricket Score and Updates: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan begin chase of 272 | Cricket News
Getty Images

All past Golden Boot winners (1982-2018)

1982: Paolo Rossi (ITA) – 6

1986: Gary Lineker (GBR) – 6

1990: Salvatore Schillaci – 6

1994: Oleg Salenko (RUS) / Hristo Stoichkov (BUL) – 6

1998: Davor Suker (CRO) – 6

2002: Ronaldo (BRA) – 8

2006 – Miroslav Klose (GER) – 5

2010 – Thomas Muller (GER) – 5

2014 – James Rodriguez (COL) – 6

2018 – Harry Kane (GBR) – 6

When is the 2022 World Cup?

The World Cup starts on Sunday, November 20 with hosts Qatar in the opener against Ecuador. The group stage runs through December 3 before the knockout rounds begin. The final will take place on Sunday 18 December.

RELATED: USMNT roster confirmed for 2022 World Cup

World Cup 2022 schedule, start time, dates, watch live

  • When: November 20, 2022 to December 18, 2022
  • Group stage match start times: 05:00, 08:00, 10:00, 11:00, 14:00 (all ET)
  • Place: Qatar
  • TV channels en Español: Telemundo, Universe, Peacock
  • Stream and Spanish: Peacock (all 64 matches)

Follow along with ProSoccerTalk for the latest news, scores, storylines and updates around the 2022 World Cup, and be sure to subscribe to NBC Sports on YouTube!



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments