Wednesday, November 30, 2022
HomeEducationUGC Chairman Jagadesh Kumar to be appointed as interim head of AICTE

UGC Chairman Jagadesh Kumar to be appointed as interim head of AICTE

UGC chairman Jagadesh Kumar appointed as interim head of AICTE

Photo: Twitter

University Grants Commission, UGC Chair Jagadesh Kumar will be appointed as the Interim Head of All India Council for Technical Education, AICTE. This decision was taken by the Ministry of Higher Education, the Ministry of Education.
UGC chairman will be appointed as acting head of the council as the incumbent chairman of AICTE, Anil Sahasrabudhe would turn 65 and would be relieved of his duties on September 1, 2022.

“While the appointment of an Ordinary Chairperson, AICTE is underway, the approval of the Honorable Minister of Education is conveyed to temporarily entrust the additional burden of Chairperson AICTE to Professor M Jagadesh Kumar, Chairperson, University Grants Commission until the appointment from an Ordinary Chairman, AICTE or to further orders, whichever is sooner.


UGC President Appointed Temporary AICTE Head

Mamidala Jagadesh Kumar took office as President of UGC India on February 4, 2022. Before that, Kumar was the Vice Chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University, JNU from 2016 to 2022. Kumar is an IIT Madras alumnus.

The current chairman of AICTE, Professor Anil Sahasrabudhe, took office as chairman in 2015. He is also currently Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Indian Institute of Technology, IIT Guwahati. According to the official website of AICTE, Professor Anil D Sahasrabudhe graduated from BVB College of Engineering and Technology, Hubli, which is affiliated with Karnataka University.

See also  IIT Guwahati Director T G Sitharam appointed as new AICTE chairman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments