Monday, February 6, 2023
HomeBreaking NewsSukhwinder Sukhu Set to Become Himachal CM, Say Sources; Announcement Soon

Sukhwinder Sukhu Set to Become Himachal CM, Say Sources; Announcement Soon

withdrew from the race just before the Congress Legislature Party meeting. A meeting of the newly elected MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Gujarat was held in Gandhinagar on Saturday, the Saffron Party selected incumbent Bhupendra Patel to return for a second term in a row as chief minister.

Meanwhile, the newly elected Congress MLAs, meeting in Shimla on Friday, unanimously passed a resolution authorizing party chairman Malikarjun Kharge to elect the leader of the legislature who will be the next prime minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh will have the most stable Congress government. 40 MLAs were elected and 3 other MLAs have pledged their support. We are 43 MLAs. No one will break away from Congress, but from the BJP. They just put down stories. In the coming time, 6-7 BJP MLAs can come to Congress: SS Sukhu

Bhupendra Patel has been elected leader of BJP Legislative Party: BJP MLA Harsh Sanghavi in ​​Gandhinagar

Speaking to the media after the more than two-hour meeting, AICC responsible for Himachal Pradesh Rajeev Shukla said the one-line resolution had been passed unanimously and the party’s observers would submit their report to the high command on Saturday.

For now, the party has submitted a list of the party’s winning MLAs to the governor and “looked for time” to formally lay claim to forming the government.

The meeting was chaired by Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, former Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda and Himachal Pradesh Congress incharge Rajeev Shukla. Pratibha Singh, President of the Himachal Congress, was also present alongside the winning MLAs.

See also  एफ़एटीएफ़ की ग्रे लिस्ट से निकलने पर पाकिस्तान को क्या फ़ायदे होंगे?

The CLP meeting, which was scheduled for 6:00 PM, was postponed to 8:00 PM because some MLAs did not arrive.

Ahead of the Congress Legislature Party meeting, hopeful Prime Ministers Pratibha Singh, Mukesh Agnihotri and Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu reached the party office in the capital Shimla along with their supporters, chanting slogans in their favour.

Meanwhile, Congress Chairman Mallikarjun Kharge also said that the views of the newly elected MLAs in Himachal Pradesh were being sought to reach a consensus on who will be their leader.

He said that the observers sent have sought individual views from all party legislators and they would give him their views, on the basis of which the party will make a decision on the main ministerial candidate.

In other news, of the 68 newly elected legislators in Himachal Pradesh, 23 are first-timers – 14 from Congress, eight from the BJP and one independent.

Gujarat Election 2022

Patel won a second consecutive term of Ghatlodia Assembly seat in Ahmedabad district by 1.92 lakh votes and remains chief minister.

Patel’s swearing-in ceremony will be held on December 12, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah will attend, along with key ministers from BJP-ruled states.

On Friday, Prime Minister Patel handed in his resignation along with his entire cabinet to clear the way for the formation of a new government in the state after the ruling BJP won a landslide victory in the just concluded parliamentary elections.

Meanwhile, the Congress has been “forced” to scramble for existence following the record victory of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the just-closed Gujarat Assembly polls, Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia said on Friday.

See also  भारी पड़ा आतंकी कनेक्शन! बिट्टा की पत्नी, सलाहुद्दीन के बेटे समेत 4 नौकरी से बर्खास्त

View the results

As votes were counted for Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh parliamentary elections on Thursday, the Bharatiya Janata Party recorded its biggest ever victory in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state by securing 156 seats in the 182-member state assembly as Congress saffron party dethroned the hill state by winning 40 seats in the 68-member assembly.

In Gujarat, Congress finished second with 17 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which made its debut with a high-decibel campaign, won 5 seats. Independents won three seats and the Samajwadi Party took one.

The Congress recorded its worst performance in Gujarat as AAP got a share of the opposition vote.

Gujarat’s incumbent chief minister, Bhupendra Patel, returns for his second term and takes oath in December.

In Himachal, BJP came second with 25 seats, followed by independent candidates with 3 seats. The AAP failed to open its account, while CPI-M also failed to win a seat, while Theog’s incumbent MLA also lost. Himachal Pradesh has not brought an incumbent government to power since 1985.

Read all Latest political news here



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments