Wednesday, November 30, 2022
HomeSports"Pehle Se Hi Tay Kar Diya?": Sunil Gavaskar Angry With 'Harshal Will...

“Pehle Se Hi Tay Kar Diya?”: Sunil Gavaskar Angry With ‘Harshal Will Get Hit In Australia’ Comment

While the Indian cricket team squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup has a tried and true look, there were a few omissions that stood out for some pundits. Former Indian cricket team player and 1983 World Cup player Krishnamachari Srikkanth thought Mohammed Shami should have been included in the main squad instead of Harshal Patel. “If I was the chairman of the selection committee, (Mohammad) Shami will definitely be on the team. We’re playing in Australia, the man has the real action, the man has resilience, he can stand the moment and he can start early wickets, so I probably would have gotten Shami instead of Harshal Patel,” Srikkanth said on Star Sports.

While Harshal has emerged as a very good pace option in T20s, Shami finished as the sixth highest wicket taker with 20 scalps in the 2022 IPL.

In a discussion on Sports Tak, a viewer asked former India captain Sunil Gavaskar to give his take on Harshal Patel. “Harshal Australia mein but kha sakte (Harshal can be crushed in Australia). He doesn’t have a lot of pace and given the type of throws in Australia, batters can attack him,” the viewer asked.

Gavaskar did not take the question lightly.

Aagey jaa kar dekhenge na, unki pitai kaise ho sakti hai. Monkey ne pehle se hi tay kar diya, pitai hoti hai. Yaar match hone dijiye na. Match hone ke baad aap bol sakte hain ‘aisa ho gaya, waisa ho gaya’. (We’ll see when the tournament starts. How can you decide he’s going to run? You came to a conclusion because he bowls slowly. At least let the match happen first. Then you can definitely say ‘This happened’, that happened’),’ replied Gavaskar during the show on Sports Tak.

See also  Watch as Another Umran Malik in making? Waseem Bashir sends netizens into a frenzy as the Jammu & Kashmir pacer clocks 150kmph


India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments