Monday, December 5, 2022
HomeSportsNew format for 2024 Men's T20 World Cup

New format for 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup

The 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA will be played in a different format than the previous two editions of the tournament.

Instead of the first round followed by the Super 12, as in 2021 and 2022, the 20 participating teams in the 2024 tournament will be divided into four groups of five teams each.

The top two teams from each of the four groups advance to a Super Eight stage, where they are further divided into two groups of four each. The top two teams in each of the two Super Eights groups qualify for the semi-finals, which will be followed by the final.

In the last two editions of the T20 World Cup, the first round had two groups of four, including teams that entered the tournament through the qualifying stage and teams that finished between ninth and twelfth in the previous T20 World Cup. The top two teams from each group in the first round then joined the rest of the eight teams that had already qualified for the Super 12 stage.

So far, 12 teams have already sealed their spot in the T20 World Cup 2024.

The USA and the West Indies automatically qualified as hosts of the tournament. Reigning champions England have also qualified alongside Pakistan, India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, South Africa and the Netherlands, having finished in the top eight of the 2022 edition.

Afghanistan and Bangladesh are the other two teams to have their berths booked as they were next best in ICC’s T20I rankings at the cut-off date of 14 November 2022.

See also  Shoaib Akhtar gave his verdict on Shaheen Afridi injury in t20 world cup final against england - शाहीन अफरीदी की चोट पर शोएब अख्तर ने कही चौंकाने वाली बात, बोले

The remaining eight places will be determined through regional qualifiers.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments