Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeSportsIND A vs NZ A LIVE Score, 1st ODI: Kuldeep, Shardul pick...

IND A vs NZ A LIVE Score, 1st ODI: Kuldeep, Shardul pick six wickets; New Zealand seven down

Welcome to Sportstar’s LIVE coverage of the first ODI between India A and New Zealand. These are Lalith Kalidas and Ayan Acharya bringing you the live updates from the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.


Also read: Duleep Trophy Final LIVE Score Updates, West Zone vs South Zone Day 2: Mayank, Kunnummal open to SZ after WZ folds for 270

Shardul v Robert O Donnell, OUT! A fantastic dive catch from Sanju Samson, as his counterpart chops a fine downward leg. Seventh wicket down as Shardul strikes in his second spell.

Robert O Donnell 22(39) ct Sanju Samson b Shardul

NZ A 64/6 in 17 surpluses

Kuldeep Yadav came close to picking two wickets in as many overs as the Kiwis made the mistake of rocking back to the hindfoot when the left arm slipped a few quick deliveries of length.

First spell of spin if Kuldeep Yadav replaces Umran Malik.

NZ A 50/6 in 13 surpluses

FIFTY up for New Zealand in the 13th over. Skipper O Donnell is slowly rebuilding the innings as Umran and Rishi Dhawan got under their spell. A run-out reference for a throw of Rishi Dhawan from square leg and it is FROM! Sean Solia falls for 4.

Sean Solia 5(10) Run Out RR Dhawan

NZ A 33/5 in 9 overs

Umran Malik replaces Shardul. A short ball of Umran and O Donell’s upper cuts the ball over the briefs before FOUR.

NZ A 27/5 in 8 overs

Kuldeep Sen to Tom Bruce, OUT! There goes another as Bruce nicks a fuller delivery to the first slip. He falls for nothing and the Kiwis are five down.

Tom Bruce 0 (3) ct Prithvi Shaw b Kuldeep Sen

See also  Harshal Patel becomes 1st bowler to Conceded Most 6s in a Year in T20I Cricket

NZ A 26/4 in 6 overs

Kuldeep Sen to Joe Carter, OUT! Kuldeep rushes one onto the pads and catches Carter perpendicular up front for 1. New Zealand has some early issues here. Skipper O Donnell comes off the goal with a single. Kuldeep to Ravindra, OUT! Sharpened and taken by Sanju Samson. Kuldeep gets two in the over and NZ stumbles further down.

Joe Carter 1 (6)lbw Kuldeep Sen;Rachin Ravindra 10 (11) ct Sanju Samson b Kuldeep Sen

NZ A 24/2 in 5 overtricks

Shardul Thakur v Dane Cleaver, OUT! Short from Shardul and Cleaver hooks it directly to Kuldeep Sen on fine-leg.

Dane Cleaver 4 (6) ct Kuldeep Sen b Shardul

NZ A 22/1 in 4 overs

Ravindra gets a streaky edge past the pointfielder for FOUR. There is a good bounce on this wicket and the Kiwi batters are enjoying it.

NZ A 17/1 in 3 overtricks

Shardul to Bowes, OUT! Cleanses him with a beauty that brings down the stump of the leg. Dane Cleaver is inside on 3. He singles from the first ball. Shardul falls short and Ravindra slams it through square in front FOUR.

Chad Bowes 10 (12) b Shardul

NZ A 14/0 in 2 overs

First frontier of the day as Bowes cuts through the point for FOUR. Kuldeep fights short and Bowes cuts it past point again FOUR. A single to follow. Short in length and Ravindra cracks it through point for another FOUR.

Kuldeep Sen from the other side

NZ A 1/0 in 1 over

A great start for Shardul with the new ball. Chad Bowes gets the only single with a tap down to fine leg.

See also  Serena loses 1st match since saying she's prepared to retire | Tennis News

Rachin Ravindra and Chad Bowes open the battle for New Zealand. Shardul Thakur takes the new ball.

TOSS: India wins toss, opts for bowl

India XI: Sanju Samson (c/wk), Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rishi Dhawan, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen

New Zealand XI: Rachin Ravindra, Chad Bowes, Tom Bruce, Joe Carter, Robbie O’Donnell (c), Michael Rippon, Dane Cleaver, Logan Van Beek. Joe Walker, Matt Fisher, Sean Solia


After the unofficial three-game Test series (four-day games), India A and New Zealand A will battle it out in a one-day, three-game series that begins Thursday at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

The host won the multi-day series 1-0 with a 113-point win in the final in Bengaluru. The first game, in Bengaluru, was drawn while the rain was a bummer during the second game at Hubballi.

Just like in four-day matches, India A will enter the series as a firm favorite, even if the visitor put on a decent show in the red ball series.

Also read: Samson’s India A takes on New Zealand A in a one-day series

For India A, Prithvi Shaw and Ruturaj Gaikwad provide a solid front at the top of the order, with the middle order being provided by skipper Sanju Samson, Rajat Patidar and Rahul Tripathi.

The squad also has Tilak Varma, who impressed for Mumbai Indians in the IPL, and pacer Raj Angad Bawa, a star of the last U-19 World Cup, alongside veteran all-rounders like Shardul Thakur and Rishi Dhawan.

In addition to the challenge of taking on a strong Indian side, New Zealand has only practiced for two days to get used to conditions that are hotter than Bengaluru.

For the Kiwis, it’s a chance to show what they can do here in subcontinental conditions with a view to the 2023 World Cup here.

“The Indian team has changed in all formats. We have a whole new challenge with the whiteball squad with a little more experience in terms of players who have played for India. We look forward to testing our skills against (them). We’re trying to make sure our skills are as good and sharp as possible to get a win,” said O’Donnell.

Also read: Sanju Samson: Specialize in hitting everywhere from opener to finisher

Where can you watch and follow the India A vs New Zealand A ODI series?

The India A vs New Zealand A ODI series is not broadcast or streamed online. You can follow all live updates from the venue through Sportstar’s live coverage and blogs.

Schedule of India A vs New Zealand A

1st ODI: IND A vs NZ A, Chennai – September 22, 09:00 IST

2nd ODI: IND A vs NZ A, Chennai – 25 September 09:00 IST

3rd ODI: IND A vs NZ A, Chennai – September 27 09:00 IST


India A-squad: Prithvi Shaw, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson (Captain), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Shabhaz Ahmed, Rahul Chahar, Tilak Varma, Kuldeep Sen, Shardul Thakini, Umdeep Saini, , Raj Angad Bawa

New Zealand A-squad: Tom Bruce (c), Chad Bowes, Joe Carter, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Jacob Duffy, Matthew Fisher, Cam Fletcher, Benjamin Lister, Robert O’Donell, Rachin Ravindra, Michael Rippon, Sean Solia, Logan van Beek, Joe Walker



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments