Saturday, November 26, 2022
HomeBreaking NewsIn Jharkhand Crisis, Team Soren Plans To Move MLAs, Say Sources: 10...

In Jharkhand Crisis, Team Soren Plans To Move MLAs, Say Sources: 10 Facts

Hemant Soren has held multiple meetings to tackle the crisis (File)

Facing the threat of disqualification from the assembly, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren and his Congress ally are planning to move MLAs to resorts — the usual tactic to evade attempts to poach lawmakers and topple governments.

Here are the 10 latest developments in this story:

  1. Preparations have been made to relocate ruling coalition MLAs to “friendly states” such as West Bengal or Chhattisgarh, if necessary, to prevent poaching attempts by the BJP, sources said.

  2. “All arrangements to park our coalition legislators in Chhattisgarh or West Bengal, both run by non-BJP governments, have been made. Three luxury buses have reached Ranchi to transport the MLAs and security personnel by road. There will also be some escort vehicles are,” a congressional leader told PTI news agency.

  3. A marathon third round of a meeting of ruling alliance lawmakers is underway at the Chief Minister’s residence to devise a strategy for dealing with the emerging scenario. All the governing MLAs attend the meeting along with their baggage, sources said.

  4. “All ruling MLAs will be sent to a single destination if necessary. All MLAs have come with their luggage to the Chief Minister’s house to attend the crucial meeting that is underway,” another source told PTI.

  5. Governor Ramesh Bais is likely to send the order to disqualify Mr Soren as MLA to India’s Election Commission (ECI) on Saturday, PTI reported, citing sources in his office.

  6. The Election Commission had sent its advice to Governor Bais on Thursday on a plea to disqualify Mr Soren as an MLA for violating electoral standards by renewing a mining lease for himself. The BJP, the originator of the case, had requested the disqualification of Mr. Soren.

  7. “Because our opponents can’t match us politically, they abuse constitutional institutions. But we’re not worried… It’s the people who gave us the seat… Do what you can; my work for my people can never stop “Mr Soren tweeted Friday.

  8. Congress has said it will support Mr. Soren as the consensus candidate. “Our coalition is strong. We will support Hemant Soren as the Chief Minister,” said Alamgir Alam, Congress MLA. Mr. Soren is not barred from participating in elections.

  9. The BJP has called for new elections and has asked the Chief Minister to resign “on moral grounds”. BJP MP Nishikant Dubey tweeted today: “According to sources from Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), some MLAs reached Chhattisgarh at 2 a.m. Most MLAs are reluctant to go and await orders from senior JMM leader Basant Soren. Some buses are parked in Ranchi for MLAs.”

  10. The ruling coalition has 49 MLAs in the 81-member Assembly. The JMM, the largest party, has 30 MLAs, Congress 18 lawmakers and Tejashwi Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The main opposition BJP has 26 MLAs. Minister Mithilesh Thakur had claimed that the ruling coalition has “50 MLAs (including the chairman, who can go up to 56”, while claiming they learned “resort politics” from the BJP.

See also  Explained: How lake catchment alterations upped urban flooding risk in Bengaluru



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments